## THE BRUNEI NATIONALITY ENACTMENT, 1961 (No. 4 of 1961)

## THE BRUNEI NATIONALITY (REGISTRATION) (AMENDMENT) REGULATION, 1963

In exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 18 of the Brunei Nationality Enactment, 1961, the Sultan in Council hereby makes the following Regulations:

## Title and commencement.

- 1. This Regulation may be cited as the Brunei Nationality (Registration) (Amendment) Regulation, 1963, and shall be read as one with the Brunei Nationality (Registration) Regulations, 1961, hereinafter referred to as the Principal Regulations.
- 2. The Principal Regulations are hereby amended by inserting the following new Regulation immediately after Regulation 8 —

### "Language Boards.

- 8A. (1) The Sultan in Council shall designate for such areas as he may think fit panels of suitable persons from whom Language Boards may be constituted in accordance with the provisions of section 15 of the Enactment. Such panels shall consist of not less than twelve persons.
- (2) For the purpose of determining whether any applicant for registration or naturalisation as a subject of the Sultan has a knowledge of the Malay language and is able to speak the Malay language as required by section 5(5)(a) or section 8(1)(e) of the Enactment, the Sultan in Council may appoint a Language Board in accordance with section 15 of the

Enactment from the panel of persons designated under paragraph (1) of this Regulation for the appropriate area. Of the three members of the Board, one member shall be a Malay, one member shall, where possible, be of the same community as the applicant.

(3) A person shall be deemed to have the prescribed knowledge of the Malay language and able to speak the Malay language with proficiency if, in the opinion of the Language Board, he is able to say and understand what a person of his standing is likely to wish to say or understand in Malay in normal intercourse with a person of a different community."

Made this 23rd day of December, 1963.

Pengiran Hj. Abdul Rahman

Clerk to

the Executive Council,

Brunei.

# THE BRUNEI NATIONALITY ENACTMENT, 1961 (No. 4 of 1961)

## THE BRUNEI NATIONALITY (REGISTRATION) REGULATIONS

In exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Regulation 8A of the Brunei Nationality (Registration) Regulations, 1961 and section 15 of the Brunei Nationality Enactment, 1961, the Sultan in Council hereby designates for the Districts shown the following panels of persons from whom the Language Boards are to be constituted and further appoints three Chairmen for each panel. Any one

of the Chairmen with any two members constitutes a Language Board for the District concerned.

## BRUNEI AND MUARA

- 1. Awang Hashim Tahir (Chairman).
- 2. Awang Kefli Bujang (Chairman).
- 3. Pg. Besar bin Pg. Ahmad (Chairman).
- 4. Awang See Jin Siong. Ching (s. 28/64
- 5. Awang Mohamad bin Haji Serudin.
- 6. Awang Chong Tet Kong.
- 7. Pg. Kamaluddin bin Pg. Haji Metassan.
- 8. Tuan Haji Md. Yassin bin Haji Metassim.
- 9. Awang Hamdani bin Haji Abd. Rahman.
- 10. Awang Md. Sum bin Hashim.
- 11. Pg. Md. Yassin bin Pg. Kamaluddin.
- 12. Awang Chua Kwong Hing.

## BELAIT

- 1. Awang Md. Yassin bin Haji Ahmad (Chairman).
- 2. Awang Mohsin P. Damit (Chairman).
- 3. Awang Abdullah Ali Hashim (Chairman).
- 4. Awang Taha bin Abdul Rahman.
- 5. Awang Abd. Rahman bin Khatib Abdullah.
- 6. Pg. Metussin bin Pg. Shahbuddin.
- 7. Awang Momin bin Nasir.
- 8. Awang Lai Ah Jee.
- 9. Awang Roslee Teo Kim Yau.
- 10. Awang Abdi Manaf Abu Bakar.
- Y.B. Pehin Bendahari China Awang Hong Kok Tin, P.O.A.S.
- 12. Awang Abdul Rahman bin Haji Ja'afar.

## TUTONG

- 1. Awang Md. Daud bin Serudin (Chairman).
- 2. Awang Abdullah bin Haji Abu Bakar (Chairman).
- 3. Awang Yunos bin Md. Husain (Chairman).
- 4. Awang Ahmad Haji Ismail.
- 5. Awang Abdul Wahab bin Mohamad.
- 6. Awang Ibrahim Haji Md. Said.
- 7. Awang Mahalie bin Abdullah.
- 8. Awang Onn Swee Siong.

- 9. Awang Bolhassan bin Abd. Ghafar.
- 10. Ak. Hamzad bin Pengiran Haji Ismail.
- 11. Y.B. Awang Chong Seng Toh.
- 12. Awang Chong King Soi. Chung Kuan Moi (s. 28/64)

## **TEMBURONG**

- 1. Awang Yusof bin Ampuan Daud (Chairman).
- 2. Awang Puasa bin Tudin (Chairman).
- 3. Awang Ludin bin Hashim (Chairman).
- 4. Awang Junid Mustafa.
- 5. Awang Md. Said Zakaria.6. Pg. Ahmad bin Pg. Damit (Labu Estate).
- 7. Awang Abdul Wahab Abdullah.
- 8. Awang Damit bin Tussan.
- 9. Awang Omar bin Kamis.
- 10. Awang Chin Ah Man.
- 11. Y.B. Awang Langkah Anak Rantap.
- 12. Y.B. Awang Timbang bin Maharaja Anggi.

Dated this 23rd day of December, 1963.

Pengiran Hj. Abdul Rahman Clerk of Councils, Brunei.