SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Order

O 1 Passports (Visa) (Exemption) Order

S 2/1985

PASSPORTS ACT (CHAPTER 146)

PASSPORTS (VISA) (EXEMPTION) ORDER

S 2/1985

Amended by

C 15/1005	C 51/2002
S 15/1985	S 51/2003
S 39/1987	S 77/2004
S 12/1988	S 78/2004
S 28/1988	S 5/2005
S 17/1990	S 50/2005
S 23/1993	S 56/2005
S 28/1993	S 65/2005
S 11/1997	S 75/2005
S 26/1997	S 85/2006
~ = 0, -, ,	S 57/2007
S 8/1998	S 2/2008
S 15/1998	S 18/2008
S 20/1998	2 -000
	S 57/2009
S 13/1999	S 2/2010
S 41/1999	S 55/2010
S 45/1999	S 56/2010
S 11/2000	S 42/2011
S 72/2000	S 56/2011
	2 0 0, = 0
S 88/2000	S 21/2012
S 43/2003	S 72/2012

REVISED EDITION 2013



SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION

PASSPORTS (VISA) (EXEMPTION) ORDER

ARRANGEMENT OF PARAGRAPHS

Paragraph

- 1. Citation.
- 2. Exempted persons.
- 3. Exemption subject to conditions.
- 4. Third Schedule.
- 5. Fourth Schedule.
 - FIRST SCHEDULE COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH ALLOWED TO ENTER BRUNEI DARUSSALAM WITHOUT VISA
 - SECOND SCHEDULE COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH EXEMPTED VISA REQUIREMENTS IF ENTER BRUNEI DARUSSALAM BY AIR
 - THIRD SCHEDULE COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH EXEMPTED VISA REQUIREMENTS IF COMPLY CONDITIONS
 - FOURTH SCHEDULE COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH HOLD DIPLOMATIC OR OFFICIAL PASSPORTS

B.L.R.O. 1/2013

SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION

PASSPORTS (VISA) (EXEMPTION) ORDER

Commencement: 1st March 1985

Citation.

1. This Order may be cited as the Passports (Visa) (Exemption) Order.

Exempted persons.

2. Any person being a citizen of any of the countries specified in the First Schedule who immediately before 14th December 1983, being the date of commencement of the Act, was allowed to enter Brunei Darussalam without being required to have a valid visa for Brunei Darussalam shall by virtue of this Order and subject to the provisions of the Immigration Act (Chapter 17) and any regulations made thereunder continue to be allowed to enter Brunei Darussalam without a visa until otherwise provided.

Exemption subject to conditions.

3. Any person who is a citizen of any of the countries specified in the Second Schedule shall be exempted from the provisions of section 3(1) relating to visa requirements provided he enters Brunei Darussalam by air and disembarks at the Brunei International Airport and satisfies the Controller of Immigration that he has a confirmed return or confirmed outward passage.

Third Schedule.

- **4.** (1) Any person who is a citizen of any of the countries specified in the Third Schedule shall be exempted from the provisions of section 3(1) relating to visa requirements provided he complies with such conditions as the Controller of Immigration may impose in accordance with the directions of His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan.
- (2) For the purposes of the Third Schedule, "a citizen of the United Kingdom" (or "British citizen") does not include a person who holds a passport describing the holder thereof as "British Overseas Citizen" or "British Dependent Territories Citizen".

Fourth Schedule.

5. Any person who is a citizen of any of the countries specified in the Fourth Schedule and who holds a valid diplomatic or official passport and enters Brunei Darussalam on official business shall be exempted from the provisions of section 3(1) relating to visa requirements provided he complies with such conditions as the Director of Immigration may impose in accordance with the directions of His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan.

FIRST SCHEDULE

(paragraph 2)

COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH ALLOWED TO ENTER BRUNEI DARUSSALAM WITHOUT VISA

Malaysia Singapore

SECOND SCHEDULE

(paragraph 3)

COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH EXEMPTED VISA REQUIREMENTS IF ENTER BRUNEI DARUSSALAM BY AIR

(Deleted by S 11/1997)

THIRD SCHEDULE

(paragraph 4)

COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH EXEMPTED VISA REQUIREMENTS
IF COMPLY CONDITIONS

Austria Canada

THIRD SCHEDULE — (continued)

Czech Republic

Denmark

Federal Republic of Germany

France

Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Hellenic Republic

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, People's Republic of China

Indonesia

Japan

Kingdom of Belgium

Kingdom of Netherlands

Macao Special Administrative Region, People's Republic of China

New Zealand

Norway

People's Democratic Republic of Laos

Philippines

Portuguese Republic

Principality of Liechtenstein

Republic of Bulgaria

Republic of Cyprus

Republic of Estonia

Republic of Finland

Republic of Hungary

Republic of Iceland

Republic of Ireland

Republic of Italy

Republic of Latvia

Republic of Lithuania

Republic of Maldives

Republic of Malta

Republic of Poland

Republic of Slovenia

Romania

Slovak Republic

South Korea

Spain

Sultanate of Oman

Sweden

Switzerland

Thailand

The Kingdom of Cambodia

The Socialist Republic of Vietnam

United Arab Emirates

United Kingdom

United States of America

Ukraine

Passports

[Subsidiary]

6

FOURTH SCHEDULE

(paragraph 5)

COUNTRIES CITIZENS OF WHICH HOLD DIPLOMATIC OR OFFICIAL PASSPORTS

Austria

Cambodia

Czech Republic

Denmark

Federal Republic of Germany

France

Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Hellenic Republic

Islamic Republic of Iran

Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Kingdom of Belgium

Kingdom of Netherlands

People's Democratic Republic of Laos

People's Republic of China*

Portuguese Republic

Republic of Bulgaria

Republic of Cyprus

Republic of Estonia

Republic of Ireland

Republic of Italy

Republic of Latvia

Republic of Lithuania

Republic of Malta

Republic of Peru

Republic of Poland

Republic of Slovenia

Republic of Tajikistan

Republic Socialist Vietnam

Republic of Finland

Republic of Hungary

Romania

Russian Federation

Slovak Republic

Spain

Sweden

The Union of Myanmar

Ukraine*

United Kingdom

^{*} For the purposes of this Order, a valid service passport issued by these countries shall be deemed to be a valid diplomatic or official passport — [S 78/2004; S 50/2005]